Who is the King of football

Who is the King of football

The title of “King of Football” is a highly debated and subjective matter among fans, pundits, and experts in Africa and around the world. Football has seen countless legends who have left their mark on the sport, making it challenging to crown a single player as the absolute king. In this article, we’ll explore some of the prominent names in the football world and discuss what makes them contenders for the title.

1. Pelé:

Brazilian football legend Pelé is often mentioned as one of the greatest footballers in history. With three FIFA World Cup titles (1958, 1962, and 1970) to his name and over 1,000 career goals, he remains an iconic figure in the sport. Pelé’s incredible skill, vision, and goal-scoring ability have solidified his place in football history.

2. Diego Maradona:

Argentinian superstar Diego Maradona is celebrated for his extraordinary dribbling skills and his legendary “Hand of God” goal during the 1986 World Cup. Maradona’s influence on the game is immeasurable, and his impact on Napoli, where he led the team to Serie A titles, is legendary.

3. Lionel Messi:

Lionel Messi, often regarded as one of the greatest of his generation, has consistently mesmerized football fans with his dribbling, creativity, and goal-scoring prowess. The Argentine forward has won multiple Ballon d’Or awards and set numerous records, including the most goals scored for a single club (FC Barcelona).

4. Cristiano Ronaldo:

Portuguese sensation Cristiano Ronaldo is another contender for the title. Renowned for his incredible work ethic, athleticism, and goal-scoring ability, Ronaldo has won multiple Ballon d’Or awards and achieved success with various top clubs, including Manchester United, Real Madrid, and Juventus.

5. Johan Cruyff:

Dutch football legend Johan Cruyff was known for his elegance on the field and his revolutionary style of play known as “Total Football.” Cruyff’s influence extended beyond his playing days, as he became a successful manager and played a significant role in shaping Barcelona’s football philosophy.

6. George Weah:

George Weah, a former Liberian footballer, is celebrated for being the only African player to win the FIFA World Player of the Year award (now known as the Ballon d’Or). His incredible speed, dribbling, and goal-scoring ability made him a sensation in European football.


The question of who is the true “King of Football” is subjective and often depends on personal preferences and biases. Each of the mentioned players has made an indelible mark on the sport, and their contributions to football’s rich history cannot be denied. Whether it’s Pelé’s World Cup victories, Maradona’s unforgettable moments, Messi’s incredible consistency, Ronaldo’s athleticism, Cruyff’s innovation, or Weah’s trailblazing success as an African player, each has played a unique and important role in shaping the game.